Main content

Reinforced cooperation between Algeria, Libya and Tunisia

The North-West Sahara Aquifer System (NWSAS) covers over 1,000,000 square kilometres in Algeria, Tunisia, and Libya. It includes the two main aquifers in the region—the Intercalary Continental and the Terminal Complex. Water from the aquifer is in high demand for potable and irrigation use.

Aerial View of Algerian Landscape

The challenges of ensuring the sustainable use of the region’s water resources, were the focus of a workshop organized by UNECE, Global Water Partnership Mediterranean and the Sahara and Sahel Observatory. The workshop is part of an ongoing process for enhancing transboundary cooperation and strengthening related capacities.

Learn more here.

Contact Us

For media and interview requests, contact us on: mentioning [Media request] in the subject heading.

News and Media

Get the latest news from UN-Water; Understand what is happening around the 2030 Agenda for Sustainable Development; Interact in our campaigns; Explore newly released publications and where events are taking place around the world.