Main content

Indicators 6.5.2 and 6.6.1 updated to tier I

To facilitate the implementation of the global indicator framework, the IAEG-SDGs categorizes the indicators into three different tiers. The tier categorization is based on their level of methodological development and the availability of data at the global level:

  • Tier I indicators have established methodologies and data are regularly produced by a critical mass of countries
  • Tier II indicators have established methodologies but data are not regularly produced by countries
  • Tier III indicators have methodologies that are under development

Two of the SDG 6 global indicators have recently been upgraded from tier II to tier I, following an increased data coverage:

Six of the SDG 6 global indicators are now classified as tier I, and the remaining five indicators as tier II. This development represents a big step forward, as we are increasingly able to assess the status of, and progress towards, SDG 6.

Contact Us

For media and interview requests, contact us on: mentioning [Media request] in the subject heading.

News and Media

Get the latest news from UN-Water; Understand what is happening around the 2030 Agenda for Sustainable Development; Interact in our campaigns; Explore newly released publications and where events are taking place around the world.

17 Goals were adopted unanimously on 25 September 2015 by 193 UN Member States

IAEG-SDGs and its Tier Classification